Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
You can obtain a copy of a police report either in person, by mail (with a self addressed stamped envelope) or by fax. If requesting a copy in person please call ahead to ensure the report you are seeking is ready and available. We will need the case report number or the date and location of the incident and the names of the parties involved in order to process your request. If your request is vague or in too broad of terms, a representative of the Norwich Police Department may call or write you in an effort to acquire information or clarification for the purpose of assisting us in our search for records and expediting a response to your request.
* TO REQUEST A POLICE REPORT DURING THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC PLEASE CLICK HERE
For instructions on "how to apply" for a pistol permit CLICK HERE
DUE TO COVID-19 SAFETY PROCEDURES- FINGERPRINTING CAN NOT BE DONE TO COMPLETE THE PISTOL PERMIT APPLICATION UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE
CT PISTOL PERMIT APPLICATION
Police reports, calls for service, and arrest information are, for the most part, public information, with specific exceptions as outlined in the Freedom of Information Act, C.G.S. section 1-210. All reports and computer-documented incidents are screened and redacted for any information that is not available to the public before release.
The fees are as follows: Police/Accident reports ...........................................$ .50 per page (uncertified). Accident reports may also be purchased online. You will need to know the date of the accident as well as the correct spelling of one of the drivers involved. Certified reports $1.00 for first page, $ .50 each page thereafter. Photos (plain paper color) $1.00 each. Photos may also be placed on a CD at a cost of $ 1.00 per disk and $1.00 per photo. Incident printouts/Dispatch logs (given in the event that a police report was not taken) $ .50 per page. Fees for requests for Faxed replies: Local calls - $ .75 per page Long Distance calls - $1.25 per page Payments are requested in either cash, certified bank check, business check or money order made payable to the City of Norwich. No personal checks are accepted. Reports must be paid for at the time of pick-up.
Some examples of records not otherwise available to the public for which records were compiled are if the disclosure of the records would result in disclosing (A) the identity of informants not otherwise known or the identity of witnesses not otherwise known whose safety would be endangered or who would be subject to threat or intimidation if their identity was made known, (B) signed statements of witnesses, (C) information to be used in a prospective law enforcement action if prejudicial to such action, (D) investigatory techniques not otherwise known to the general public, (E) arrest records of a juvenile, which shall also include any investigatory files, concerning the arrest of such juvenile, compiled for law enforcement purposes, (F) the name and address of the victim of a sexual assault or injury or risk of injury, or impairing of morals under CGS section 53-21, or of an attempt thereof or (G) uncorroborated allegations. For further information please consult the Connecticut Freedom of Information Act.
For Statewide criminal background checks follow the link: Connecticut State Police
Amusement Machine Arcade License – Six or more machines … $25.00 per yearSource – City Ord. Sec. 5-14
Junk/Second Hand Articles Dealers Permit –Fee … $10.00 per yearSource – City Ord. Sec. 21-11
Vendor License (Peddlers/Hawkers) –Fee … $200.00 per yearVeterans … No FeeNonprofit/Charitable Organizations … Fee WaivedSource – City Ord. Sec. 15-1
Auctioneer License – Residents …………………………. No FeeNonresidents ……………………… $250.00 per yearNonprofit/Charitable Organizations . $10.00 per yearSource – City Ord. Sec. 15-1
Solicitor Permit –No feeSource – City Ord. Sec. 15-14
Lodging House License –Fee … $50.00 per yearSource – CGS 21-48
Pistol & Revolver Permit –Carry … $70.00 – 60 day temporary state licenseSale … $200.00 per yearSource – CGS Sec. 29-30 State pistol permit information
Purchasers of Precious Metals, Stones & Jewelry License –Fee … $10.00 per yearSource – CGS Sec. 21-100
Pawnbrokers License –Initial Fee … $50.00Renewal …. $25.00 per yearSource – CGS Sec. 21-40
Secondhand Dealers License –Initial Fee … $250.00Renewal … $100.00Source – CGS Sec. 21-40
Raffle/Bazaar Permit –Class 1 Raffle … $25.00 Class 2 Raffle … $10.00Class 3 Bazaar . $10.00 per dayClass 4 Raffle … $ 5.00Class 5 Raffle … $40.00Class 6 Raffle … $50.00(City half of fee – split with State)Source – CGS Sec. 7-176
Payments are requested in either cash, certified bank check, business check or money order made payable to the City of Norwich. No personal checks are accepted. Permits must be paid for at the time of pick-up.
It is the policy of the Norwich Police Records Division to provide copies of records in lieu of original documents. This policy is established to provide for the protection of records and to prevent interference with the regular discharge of Norwich Police Records Division duties. The right to examine original records does not require inspection of original documents that contain information that is exempt from disclosure. The Norwich Police Records Division acts reasonably if it furnishes a copy of the original document, with the exempt material redacted (blanked out).
Pawnbroker (Sec. 21-40 CGS) - Initial application $50.00 / annual renewal $25.00 (Shall also file at the Police Department, a bond with competent surety, in the penal sum of $2,000) The payment of renewal fee and surety bond will be waived if person holds a license as a Secondhand Dealer
Precious Metals, Gemstones and Coins Dealer (Sec. 21-100 CGS) - $10.00 annually
Secondhand Dealer (PA11-100, sec. 10) – Initial application $250.00 / annual renewal $100.00(Shall also file at the police Department, a bond with competent surety, in the penal sum of $10,000.00)
*All fees are payable by business check, certified bank draft, money order or U.S. Postal money order.
A license issued for one category does not allow a person to engage in activity applicable to another category. A separate license must be obtained for each category.
Any person and/or firm who has made prior application to and has satisfactorily met the statutory requirements to engage in or transact business in this State pursuant to Sec. 12-409 CGS and who desires to conduct business as a licensed pawnbroker, precious metals / gemstones and coin dealers and or a secondhand dealer within the City of Norwich as defined by Public Act 11-100 of the General Statutes shall meet the following requirements as established by the Chief of Police (hereinafter identified as the “Issuing Authority”);
1) Complete the appropriate application and addendum for the specific license desired and return the form with the statutory fee (listed above) to the Norwich Police Department, 70 Thames Street, Norwich, CT 06360. License applications can be obtained from the Records Division during regular business hours or by calling (860) 886-5561.
2) ALL applicants shall have their fingerprints taken at the Norwich Police Department. Three separate fees must be paid with three separate checks or money orders. All fingerprinting fees are non-refundable.
(a). $10.00 for town residents, $20.00 for out of town residents cash only.
(b). $16.50 fee, bank check or money order made out to the “Treasurer, State of Connecticut” which will be submitted to the Connecticut State Police Bureau of Identification for a criminal history/records check from the FBI.
(c). $50.00 fee, bank check or money order made out to ““Treasurer, State of Connecticut” for the State criminal history/records check.
Per statute, the “Issuing Authority” shall not grant a license to any applicant upon documentation or finding that the person is a “convicted felon”.
3) ALL applicants shall submit photocopies of the following documents at the time ofApplication; - Current driver’s license- Birth certificate OR- Social security card- Connecticut Sales and Tax Permit - issued by the Commissioner of Revenue Services, 25 Sigourney Street, Hartford, Telephone (860) 297-5962 or (800) 382-9463 - Proof of bond from competent surety if required
4) Incomplete applications or those submitted without the proper supporting documentation shall be returned to the applicant.
5) Each Person engaging or transacting in such business must be licensed.
Applications approved by the Chief of Police will result in the issuance of a permit as a licensed pawnbroker, precious metal and gem stone dealer, or second hand dealer. Such permits will be valid from the date they are signed by Chief of Police and will expire on December 31st of each year.